Children’s Health Award: Past Awardees

Since 1993, the Michigan School Health Coordinators’ Association (MiSHCA) has granted the Children’s Health Award to formally recognize individuals and organizations who have directly contributed to Michigan’s school health effort through their dedication, commitment and perseverance.

Past awardees are listed below by year:

2019 Deb GrischkeAction for Healthy Kids
  Senator Goeff HansenMichigan Senate
2018 Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association (MEMSPA) 
2017 Laurie BechhoferMichigan Department of Education
2017 John Austin 
2016Kim Phillips-KnopeSexual Minority Youth Trainer
 Jenny Murphy Sexual Minority Youth Trainer
 Tracy Hobbs Sexual Minority Youth Trainer
 Amorie “Kofi” Robinson Sexual Minority Youth Trainer
 Laurie Bechhofer Michigan Department of Education
2015 Amy Zaagman Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health
2013/14Dee LindenbergerMarquette-Alger RESA/SAPE
 Marcia McEvoy 
2012Kevin and Tammy EplingBully Police
 Senator Gretchen WhitmerMichigan Senate
 Ashley VandekoppleOffice of Public Health Preparedness
2011Adolescent School Health SectionMichigan Department of Community Health
 Coordinated School Health and Safety Programs UnitMichigan Department of Education
 Diane GolzynskiMichigan Department of Community Health
2010Senator Tom GeorgeMichigan Senate
 Rep. Joan BauerMichigan House of Representatives
 Rep. Robert DeanMichigan House of Representatives
 Rep. Gary McDowellMichigan House of Representatives
 Rep. John ProosMichigan House of Representatives
2009Michigan REMC 
2008Patti SteeleMacomb ISD
2007Jeff EdwardsChase Edwards Endowment
 Donna HenseyUnited Dairy Industry of Michigan
 Martha NeilsenMichigan Depts of Education & Community Health
 Douglas Patterson 
2006Senator Michelle McManus35th District
 Karen Gilhooly, M.D.Traverse Bay Area, posthumous Accepted by her husband Kurt Sanford, M.D.
2005Debbie BrinsonSchool Health Alliance
2004Rep. Jim Barcia31st District
 Sylvia Hacker 
 E. J. McClendon, Ph.D. 
 Michele StraszMichigan Council for Maternal & Child Health
2003Sharon Clayton Peters 
2002Betsy PashOffice of Drug Control Policy
2001Barb FlisMichigan PTSA
2000John FrischCentral Michigan University
1999Jan LunquistPlanned Parenthood of West Michigan
 Herb MoyerMichigan State Board of Education
 Maxine OlsonBothwell Public Schools
1998Kathryn Wright, M.D.Children’s Hospital of Michigan
 Skillman FoundationSkillman Foundation
1997Rep. Debbie Stabenow8th U.S. Congressional District
 Rep. Sharon Gire31st District
 Susan StuberGenesee ISD
 Children’s Hospital of MichiganChildren’s Hospital of Michigan
1996Dorothy BeardmoreMichigan State Board of Education
 Loren BensleyCentral Michigan University
 Johnnie BoughnerCentral Michigan University
 Jan Christensen, J.D.Michigan Department of Community Health
 Kathleen StraussMichigan State Board of Education
 United Dairy Industry of MichiganUnited Dairy Industry of Michigan
1995Jean ChabutMichigan Department of Public Health
 Vernice Davis AnthonyMichigan Department of Public Health
 Anne HansenMichigan Department of Education
 Neal ShineDetroit Free Press
 Teresa StatenMichigan Department of Education
1994Rep. Lynn Banks19th District
 Rep. Maxine Berman36th District
 Rep. William Ford13th Congressional District ?
 Joe HollisMacomb ISD
 Paula NettletonEMC/Central Michigan University
 Renee RochoCalhoun ISD
 Wendy SellersEditor/Trainer MI Model Revision Project
 Rich SimondsonOakland Schools
 Matt TomasiewiczOttawa ISD
1993Sen. Jim Barryman11th District
 Rep. Don Gilmer48th District
 Alice McCarthy, Ph.D.Bridge Communications
 Annetta Miller, R.N.Michigan State Board of Education
 Paul ShaheenMichigan Council for Maternal & Child Health
 Margaret Soffin, J.D.Senate Democratic Staff
About Us

We are mishca, a non-profit made up of local experts on the Whole Child (the WSCC Model).

Sign up for our Newsletter!

%d bloggers like this: