Harrison Award

MiSHCA hosts the presentation of the Harrison Award. This award is selected and presented by the Michigan Model for Health State Steering Committee.

The Harrison award is given in recognition to honor individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to school health education in Michigan.  The Michigan Model for Health State Steering Committee has given this recognition annually (with exception of 2014-2017) since 1988 when Dr. James T. Harrison was recognized for his distinguished service and commitment to school health.

Dr. Harrison championed the first legislative appropriation in 1983 that created the concept of making available to every school; age appropriate, sequential, skill building comprehensive school health education through the Michigan Model for Comprehensive School Health Education.  As the Chief Medical Officer for the then Michigan Department of Public Health, he resided over the Michigan Model State Steering Committee as the first chairperson for five years.


Harrison Award Recipients

2020  Amy Zaggman Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health
2019  Mary Beno Livingston Educational Service Agency
 Cheryl Blair Kent Intermediate School District
2018 Taryn Mason  Cooper County Mental Health Services Institute
2013 Beverly Schroeder Ottawa Area Intermediate School District
2012 Mariane Fahlman Wayne State University
2011 Patti Steele Macomb Intermediate School District
2010 Betsy Pash Michigan Department of Community Health
2009 Martha Neilsen Retired from the Michigan Department of Education & Eaton Intermediate School District
2008 Kathy Gibson Wayne County Regional Educational Service Agency
2007 Dr. Jim O’Neill Madonna University
2006 Wendy Sellers Eaton Intermediate School District
2005 Steve Sukta Jackson Intermediate School District
2004 Laurie Bassett Traverse Bay Area Intermediate School District
2003 Paula Nettleton Education Materials Center, CMU
2002 Don Sweeney Michigan Department of Community Health
2001 Michigan Model Health Coordinators
2000 Pat Nichols Michigan Department of Education
1999 Loren Bensley Central Michigan University (retired Health Ed. Professor)
1998 Barbara Bates Oakland Intermediate School District
Roy Peterson Mott Children’s Health Center
1997 Anne Hansen Michigan Department of Education
1996 Jean Chabut Michigan Department of Community Health
1995 Wanda Jubb CDC (previously MDE)
1994 Mary Ann George Rivertown Consultants
1993 Betty Tableman MI Department of Mental Health
1992 Rick Murdock MI Department of Management and Budget
1991 Robert Harris Michigan Department of Community Health
1990 Grace Tasker Dairy Council of Michigan
1989 Marty Doring Bay Arenac ISD
1988 James T. Harrison Michigan Department of Public Health
<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: