Harrison Award: Past Awardees

MiSHCA hosts the presentation of the Harrison Award. This award is selected and presented by the Michigan Model for Health State Steering Committee.

The Harrison award is given in recognition to honor individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to school health education in Michigan.  The Michigan Model for Health State Steering Committee has given this recognition annually (with exception of 2014-2017) since 1988 when Dr. James T. Harrison was recognized for his distinguished service and commitment to school health.

Dr. Harrison championed the first legislative appropriation in 1983 that created the concept of making available to every school; age appropriate, sequential, skill building comprehensive school health education through the Michigan Model for Comprehensive School Health Education.  As the Chief Medical Officer for the then Michigan Department of Public Health, he resided over the Michigan Model State Steering Committee as the first chairperson for five years.

Past awardees are listed below by year:

2021Amy WassmannSaginaw Intermediate School District
2020 Amy ZaggmanMichigan Council for Maternal and Child Health
2019 Mary BenoLivingston Educational Service Agency
  Cheryl BlairKent Intermediate School District
2018Taryn Mason Cooper County Mental Health Services Institute
2013Beverly SchroederOttawa Area Intermediate School District
2012Mariane FahlmanWayne State University
2011Patti SteeleMacomb Intermediate School District
2010Betsy PashMichigan Department of Community Health
2009Martha NeilsenRetired from the Michigan Department of Education & Eaton Intermediate School District
2008Kathy GibsonWayne County Regional Educational Service Agency
2007Dr. Jim O’NeillMadonna University
2006Wendy SellersEaton Intermediate School District
2005Steve SuktaJackson Intermediate School District
2004Laurie BassettTraverse Bay Area Intermediate School District
2003Paula NettletonEducation Materials Center, CMU
2002Don SweeneyMichigan Department of Community Health
2001Michigan Model Health Coordinators 
2000Pat NicholsMichigan Department of Education
1999Loren BensleyCentral Michigan University (retired Health Ed. Professor)
1998Barbara BatesOakland Intermediate School District
 Roy PetersonMott Children’s Health Center
1997Anne HansenMichigan Department of Education
1996Jean ChabutMichigan Department of Community Health
1995Wanda JubbCDC (previously MDE)
1994Mary Ann GeorgeRivertown Consultants
1993Betty TablemanMI Department of Mental Health
1992Rick MurdockMI Department of Management and Budget
1991Robert HarrisMichigan Department of Community Health
1990Grace TaskerDairy Council of Michigan
1989Marty DoringBay Arenac ISD
1988James T. HarrisonMichigan Department of Public Health
About Us

We are mishca, a non-profit made up of local experts on the Whole Child (the WSCC Model).


Sign up for our Newsletter!

%d bloggers like this: